Castle of the Tower

A splendid example of a fortified castle, powerbase of the Mezzolombardo nobility

Located above the town of Mezzolombardo, near Trento and under the Brenta Dolomites, the Castle of the Tower, with its centuries-old history, is the perfect setting to create an exclusive, elegant and above all unique event. Dating back to the fifteenth century and currently owned by the Tamanini family, the castle, surrounded by crenellated walls, includes the sixteenth-century church of Sant'Apollonia, recently restored and surrounded by large and wonderful panoramic gardens with breathtaking views over the entire Piana Rotaliana, located on several levels.

The Castle of the Tower also has large, welcoming rooms full of charm thanks to the ceilings with vaulted ceilings, where you can set up wedding receptions, business meetings, art exhibitions or other events.
Every corner of the castle lends itself to becoming a spectacular and romantic setting, capable of giving an exciting and indelible memory over time.



The location of the Castello della Torre is a highly significant one in the town's history: it is on a promontory between the old Piaz quarter and the rocky steps of Travaiòn. The current structure is the result of various reconstructions, enlargements and restorations over the centuries and therefore presents architectural elements from different periods: sixteenth century, Baroque and eighteenth century with subsequent additions. It is regarded as being the successor to the older Castello di Mezo S. Pietro, which is thought to have stood on the Toresela hill. The first historical reference to the castle goes back to 1541, when Prince-Bishop Cristoforo Madruzzo granted Sigmund Spaur feudal rights over the building known as “la torre” (the tower) situated on a hill called the “dosso di S. Apollonia”.

The oldest part of the castle consists of the great tower dating from the early fifteenth century, which in the sixteenth century was incorporated into the baronial palace along with two other towers with a purely ornamental function. Alterations carried out by Sigmund Spaur and continued by his descendants after his death in 1544 modified the existing layout. An interesting fact worth recalling is that Giovanni Michele Spaur, Prince-Bishop of Trento from 1695 to 1725, was born within these walls in 1638. The Spaur family lived in the Castello della Torre until the mid-nineteenth century when the line of inheritance passed to Count Eugenio Welsperg. He then sold it to a local bank, the Cassa di Risparmio di Trento e Rovereto. Finally, in 1940, it was bought by Rinaldo Tamanini.

The castle complex, which is completely enclosed by a defensive wall, includes cultivation terraces; the little church of St. Apollonia; and two sets of residential buildings: a large rural dwelling in the lower courtyard and a noble residence with a corner tower; a tower house and the great tower in the upper courtyard.

Today, a few canvases are all that remains of the vast collection of paintings the 64 rooms of these venerable buildings once housed.

Send a request

for information to

Castle of the Tower